Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Morris County USD 417



Ajax Loading Image


English Language Arts and Literacy

The USD 417 English Language Arts and Literacy (ELA-Literacy) curriculum was analyzed by the K-12 ELA Subject Area Committee (SAC) during the summer of 2012. The new curriculum was implemented during the 2012-2013 school year.  

The standards are arranged by strands for Reading, Writing, Speaking & Listening, and Language.  They include a set of K-12 College & Career Readiness Anchor Standards as well as specific ELA Standards for each grade level.  They also include Literacy Standards for History/Social Studies and Science/Other Technical Subjects.

For resources and information on the current 2010 Kansas College and Career Ready State Standards (KCCRS) for English Language Arts and Literacy, please visit the KSDE website at:  http://community.ksde.org/Default.aspx?tabid=5280

ELA Parent Information Page:  http://community.ksde.org/Default.aspx?tabid=5838


Kindergarten ELA-Literacy

1st Grade ELA-Literacy

2nd Grade ELA-Literacy

3rd Grade ELA-Literacy

4th Grade ELA-Literacy

5th Grade ELA-Literacy

6th Grade ELA-Literacy

7th Grade ELA-Literacy

8th Grade ELA-Literacy

9th and 10th ELA-Literacy

11th and 12th ELA-Literacy

Speech Elective

Creative Writing Elective

American Literature Elective






Notice of Non-discrimination:   USD #417 does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Nancy L. Meyer, 17 S Wood Street, Council Grove, Kansas 66846 (620)767-5192