Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Morris County USD 417



Ajax Loading Image


Social Studies

The Kansas state standards for Social Studies were adopted on April 16, 2013.  The standards for each grade level and course, as well as Parent Guides for each grade level and course, can be found at the following link.  These are the standards we teach.  The state assessment at grades 6, 8, and 11 for History-Government and Social Studies is built upon these. 



The focus of each grade level is listed below:

Grade K:  Sense of Self

Grade 1:  Families

Grade 2:  Then and Now (Past and Present)

Grade 3:  Communities (Local History - Community)

Grade 4:  Kansas and Regions of the US

Grade 5:  US History (Beginnings through at least 1800)

Grade 6:  World History (Ancient and Medieval Civilizations)

Grade 7:  Geography and KS History

Grade 8:  US History (Constitutional Age through International Expansion)

World History (Renaissance to the Present)

US History with KS History integrated (International Expansion to the Present)

United States Government






Notice of Non-discrimination:   USD #417 does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Nancy L. Meyer, 17 S Wood Street, Council Grove, Kansas 66846 (620)767-5192