Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Morris County USD 417



Ajax Loading Image


Story image 1_0
5c76ff4931fb7Lisa Jarvis

Lisa Jarvis

USD 417 is extremely proud and excited to announce that Lisa Jarvis, CGJSHS English Lang. Arts teacher, was selected as one of seven Kansas Master Teachers.  Congratulations Mrs. Jarvis!  Below is the press release with the announcement.

2019 Class of Kansas Master Teachers Announced

Talented. Phenomenal. One in a million. These are the words used by the people who work and learn from the seven teachers chosen as the 2019 Kansas Master Teachers, announced today:

  • Paula Barr, Second-Grade Teacher at Quail Run Elementary School in USD 497 Lawrence;

  • Dedra Braxmeyer, Mathematics Teacher at Manhattan High School in USD 383 Manhattan-Ogden;

  • Laura Gaughan, Elementary Reading Specialist at O’Loughlin Elementary School in USD 489 Hays;

  • Michelle Hilliard, Mathematics Teacher at Complete High School in USD 266 Maize;

  • Lisa Jarvis, English Language Arts Teacher at Council Grove Junior-Senior High School in USD 417 Morris County;

  • Carolynn Phalen, First-Grade Teacher at Grace E. Stewart Elementary School in USD 305 Salina; and

  • Linda Vena, Elementary Reading Specialist at Mission Trail Elementary School in USD 229 Blue Valley.

    The 2019 master teachers represent 180 years of classroom experience.

    Through the support of the Bank of America Charitable Foundation, each Master Teacher will be presented with a check for $1000.

    The recipients were selected by a nine-member committee including representatives from the Kansas Association of Colleges of Teacher Education, Kansas Association of Elementary School Principals, Kansas Association of School Boards, Kansas Association of Secondary School Principals, Kansas Parent Teacher Organization, Kansas National Education Association, ESU’s Kappa Delta Pi student organization, and representatives of the 2018 Kansas Master Teacher class.

    The 2019 Master Teachers will be honored on Master Teacher Day to be held Wednesday, April 3 at Emporia State University. On that day, as part of several recognition activities, the teachers will present a seminar at 2:30 p.m. in the W.S. and E.C. Jones Conference Center in Visser Hall. The teachers will then be honored during a social hour at 5:45 p.m. in Webb Hall Lobby of Emporia State’s Memorial Union followed by the banquet and award ceremony at 6:30 p.m. in Webb Hall.


Notice of Non-discrimination:   USD #417 does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Aron Dody, 17 S Wood Street, Council Grove, Kansas 66846 (620)767-5192